11 Research Prizes reward EPFL Researchers

© Giorgio Trovato

© Giorgio Trovato

11 young EPFL researchers have been rewarded for their research projects this year again. These prizes are offered by Foundations and EPFL.

Zoom on these awards and their 2022 prize-winners:

  • ABB Award: created by the house Asea Brown Boveri Ltd., this prize rewards an original scientific work in the domains of energy, production, transport, distribution and the use of energy under all its forms or computing, automatic and telecommunications. This year, this prize was awarded to Marios Kogias for his thesis “Operating System and Network Co-Design for Latency-Critical Datacenter Applications”.
  • Chorafas Award: offered by the Foundation Dimitris. Chorafas since 2001, this prize aims at encouraging exceptional works in the domains of applied research. This year, this prize was granted to Weiyan Ni for his research project “The design and synthesis of nanostructured hydrogen oxidation reaction electrocatalysts for hydroxide exchange membrane fuel cells” and to Vytautas Navikas for his research project “Biophysical applications of correlative scanning probe and super-resolution microscopy”.
  • EPFL Doctorates Awards: established in 1993 to distinguish the works of doctorates of exceptional quality and arouse vocations of particularly qualified researchers, this prize rewards three candidates having written a remarkable thesis for its originality, the impact of the results and the presentation. This year, this prize was awarded to Lana Josipović for her thesis “High-Level Synthesis of Dynamically Scheduled Circuits”, to Mikhail Nikolaev for his thesis “Engineering next generation organoids through guided stem cell self-organisation” and to Michele Simoncelli for his thesis “Thermal transport beyond Fourier, and beyond Boltzmann”.
  • Gilbert Hausmann Award: this prize rewards a PhD student having completed an EPFL PhD thesis in the field of mechanical engineering, electricity or physics. The prize-winning project should stand out through its excellence, particularly in terms of originality and the prospects which it opens. This year, the prize was awarded to Joowon Lim for his thesis “Learning approaches to high-fidelity optical diffraction tomography”.
  • Professor René Wasserman Award: sponsored by the family Wasserman, founder of the group Eutectic-Castolin and TeroLab Service Management SA, it rewards either a Doctoral Thesis or a Post-doctoral Research, undertaken at the EPFL. It aims at distinguishing innovative and high-level research in the field of new materials. This year, the prize was awarded to Inès Richard for her thesis "Ultimate feature sizes in thermally drawn fibers: from fundamental analysis to functional fibers".
  • University Latsis Prize: offered by the Foundation Latsis Internationale, a non-profit public institution created in 1975, this prize rewards a research work which makes an important contribution and an international innovation in the field of the sciences and of the technology. This year, this prize was awarded to Carmela Troncoso for her research project “Towards a privacy-preserving digital society”.
  • Ville de Lausanne Award: The prize, attributed every three years, distinguishes innovative and high-level research in the exact sciences, natural sciences or biomedical sciences. This year, this prize was awarded to Dora Mahecicfor her thesis “High-throughput and adaptive super-resolution fluorescence microscopy of organelles”.
  • ZKS Award: offered by the Zeno Karl Schindler Foundation created in 2005, this prize rewards a post-doctoral research project which makes an important contribution or an international innovation in the field of the sciences of the environment or the technologies having a positive impact on the environment or the sustainable development. This year, this prize was awarded to Benjamin Kellenberger for his research project “Interactive Machine Vision for Wildlife Conservation”.

These prizes have been awarded by the EPFL Research Awards Commission. All the pictures of the Research and Doctoral Awards Ceremony are available in the EPFL Media Library.

For more details, please visit our webpage.