Tobias Kippenberg elected to NAE membership

Tobias Kippenberg. Credit: EPFL.

Tobias Kippenberg. Credit: EPFL.

Professor Tobias Kippenberg at EPFL has been elected an international member of the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE). 

Established in 1964, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is a prestigious independent, nonprofit institution committed to leading engineering efforts beneficial to the US, aiming to advance the country's welfare by offering expert advice on engineering and technology matters, fostering an esteemed engineering profession, and increasing public engineering awareness. The NAE's members are recognized leaders across various sectors, driving impactful projects that connect engineering and technology.

NAE members are elected by their peers, marking one of the highest honors in the field of engineering. These distinguished individuals excel in various sectors, including business, academia, government, and private organizations, showcasing notable achievements in engineering practice, research, education, or leadership. Membership is exclusive, with nominations sourced from current NAE members, emphasizing the prestige and integrity of this esteemed group.

This year the NAE has elected 114 new members and 21 new international members. Among the latter is Professor Tobias Kippenberg at EPFL (Schools of Basic Sciences and Engineering), has elected the esteemed professor as an international member. The NAE citation mentions that Professor Kippenberg was elected “[f]or development and commercialization of chip-scale optical frequency combs."

Tobias Kippenberg, currently a Full Professor of Physics at EPFL, has had a distinguished academic journey, beginning with his BA at RWTH Aachen and culminating in a PhD from Caltech. His early career included leading an independent research group at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics before joining EPFL, where he directs the Laboratory of Photonics and Quantum Measurement, pushing the boundaries of photonics and quantum measurement.