The James H. Wilkinson Prize to Assyr Abdulle

Assyr Abdulle

Assyr Abdulle

Professor Assyr Abdulle (Chair of Computational Mathematics and Numerical Analysis at EPFL) has been awarded by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics the James H. Wilkinson Prize in numerical analysis and scientific computing for "outstanding contributions in a broad range of fields, including stability analysis and mathematical software for stiff initial value problems, efficient solution algorithms for stochastic differential equations, and error analysis of hetergeneous multiscale methods".

The prize, established in 1979, is awarded every four years for research in, or other contributions to, numerical analysis and scientific computing during the six years preceding the award. The purpose of the prize is to stimulate younger contributors and to help them in their careers.


Source: EPFL