Prof. Mats Stensrud wins two awards for young statisticians

© 2023 EPFL

© 2023 EPFL

Prof. Mats Stensrud, head of the Chair of Biostatistics (BIOSTAT) has been awarded both the Arthur-Linder prize by the Austria-Switzerland region of the International Biometric Society (IBS, ROeS) and the Lambert Prize by the Swiss Statistical Society (SSS).

Professor Mats Stensrud, head of the Chair of Biostatistics at EPFL, has been awarded two prizes for young researchers.

The Arthur Linder prize is awarded every two years to a researcher below 35 years. This year’s ceremony took place at the Central European Network conference in Basel, where Prof. Stensrud gave an invited talk. The prize was awarded in recognition of a rare combination of outstanding theoretical results and highly relevant practical applications present in Prof. Stensrud paper entitled Conditional separable effects published in the Journal of the American Statistical Association in 2022.

The Johann Heinrich Lambert Award is given every three years to recognize outstanding contributions in all areas of statistics by researches below 35 years. Prof. Stensrud received this year’s award for his contributions in causal inference and biostatistics.