Prof. Jan Hesthaven named AMS Fellow

© 2022 EPFL

© 2022 EPFL

Professor Jan Hestaven has been elected Fellow of the American Mathematical Society.

Professor Jan Hestaven was named AMS Fellow for his contributions to computational methods for PDEs, high order accurate methods and the reduced order method.

The American Mathematical Society (AMS) was founded in 1888 with the goal to further mathematical research and scholarship. Today, AMS membership counts nearly 30,000 individuals and 570 institutions from all over the world, including EPFL. It carries out its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its applications. Its efforts also support mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and the way it connects to other disciplines and everyday life.

Thirty-nine mathematical scientists from around the world have been named Fellows of the AMS for 2023, the program's eleventh year.

"It is an honor to welcome a new class of AMS Fellows and to congratulate them for their notable contributions to mathematics research and service to the profession,” said AMS President Ruth Charney. “We extend our thanks to the nominators and members of the selection committee for their help in highlighting the outstanding achievements of their colleagues. Congratulations, 2023 Fellows!”

View the names, institutions, and citations of the full 2023 class of Fellows,