Prof. Hubert Girault awarded with Aalto University Honorary doctorate

© 2023 EPFL

© 2023 EPFL

Professor emeritus Hubert Girault will receive Aalto University honorary doctorate on 16 June 2023

The schools of technology at Aalto University have granted seven honorary doctorates to distinguished persons in the fields of science, technology and society. The honorary doctorates will be conferred on 16 June 2023 in the ceremonial conferment of doctoral degrees at Aalto University, in the main building Dipoli, Espoo.

Aalto University schools can grant honorary doctorates and doctoral insignia at conferment ceremonies to individuals with strong ties to Aalto University and impressive achievements in science and technology or significant contributions to other societal or cultural activities. The honorary doctorate is the highest honour an university can award.

Honorary doctorates 2023 of technology will be awarded to:

Director General Tuula Antola, Omnia
Professor emeritus Hubert Girault, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Professor Minna Karstunen, Chalmers University of Technology
Research Director Jyri Kosola, Finnish Defence Forces
Professor Kurt Mehlhorn, Saarland University
Head of Hull Basic Design Ari Niemelä, Meyer Turku
L. Herbert Ballou Professor Arto Nurmikko, Brown University