Prof. Eva Bayer Fluckiger named AMS Fellow

© Eva Bayer Fluckiger / 2021 EPFL

© Eva Bayer Fluckiger / 2021 EPFL

Honorary Professor Eva Bayer Fluckiger has been elected Fellow of the American Mathematical Society.

Honorary Professor Eva Bayer Fluckiger was named AMS Fellow for her contributions to number theory, algebra, and topology, and for her service to the profession.

The American Mathematical Society (AMS) was founded in 1888 with the goal to further mathematical research and scholarship. Today, AMS membership counts nearly 30,000 individuals and 570 institutions from all over the world, including EPFL. It carries out its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its applications. Its efforts also support mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and the way it connects to other disciplines and everyday life.

Forty-five mathematical scientists from around the world have been named Fellows of the AMS for 2022, the program's tenth year.

AMS members designated as Fellows of the AMS have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. The AMS is pleased to honor excellence by presenting the class of 2022 Fellows, who are being recognized by their peers for their contributions to the profession.

"It is an honor to welcome a new class of AMS Fellows and to congratulate them for their notable contributions to mathematics and to the profession," said AMS President Ruth Charney. "We extend our thanks to the nominators and members of the selection committee for their help in highlighting the outstanding achievements of their colleagues. Congratulations 2022 Fellows!"

View the names, institutions, and citations of the full 2022 class of Fellows,