HFSP AWARDS 2017 - RESEARCH GRANTS for Auke Jan Ijspeert from EPFL

© http://scienceblogs.de

© http://scienceblogs.de

Full professor Auke Jan Ijspeert from the Biorobotics Laboratory, EPFL, was listed as one of the winners of the 2017 awards for Research Grants (Program Grants) from the Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP).

Full professor Auke Jan Ijspeert from EPFL and two of his colleagues Akio Ishiguro from Tohoku University and Emily Standen from the University of Ottawa obtained this highly competitive grant from the Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) for their studies on Robotics-inspired biology: decoding flexibility of motor control by studying amphibious locomotion.

The International Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HFSPO) is awarding some $30 million to support the top 3% of the Research Grant applications. The 30 winning teams of the 2017 competition for the HFSP Research Grants went through a rigorous year-long selection process in a global competition that started with a record 1073 submitted letters of intent involving scientists with their laboratories in more than 60 different countries. Among the winners are 9 Young Investigator Grants and 21 Program Grants. Each team member receives on average $110,000 - $125,000 per year for 3 years for international teams involving at least two countries. Preference is given to intercontinental collaborations (rather than all N. American or all European teams). All team members are expected to broaden the character of their research compared to their ongoing research programs and interact with teams bringing expertise that is very different from their own so as to create novel approaches to problems.

Interested in getting a funding from HFSP? Check their website and learn more about their funding opportunities (Research Grants, Career Development Awards and Postdoctoral Fellowships)!

For more information:

Sources: HFSP’s website and HFSP’s press release

Author: Emilie Humbert