HERSUS Prize on Modern Built Heritage - Deadline 15th January 2023

© 2020-2023 Erasmus + Project Strategic Partnership HERSUS

© 2020-2023 Erasmus + Project Strategic Partnership HERSUS

The new European Prize initiated within the Erasmus+ project HERSUS is led by the University of Belgrade. The Open Call for Applications for HERSUS Prize on Modern Heritage is available until January 15th.

Prize background and context

The HERSUS Prize on Modern Heritage is an initiative within the Erasmus+ project Enhancing of Heritage Awareness and Sustainability of Built Environment in Architectural and Urban Design – HERSUS, implemented as Strategic Partnership for higher education and co-funded by European Commission. HERSUS consortium consist of five universities from Europe:

  • University of Belgrade – Faculty of Architecture, Belgrade, Serbia, as lead organisation;
  • Università Iuav di Venezia, Venezia, Italy;
  • University of Cyprus – Department of Architecture, Nicosia, Cyprus;
  • Aristotle University of Thessaloniki – School of Architecture, Thessaloniki, Greece;
  • University of Seville, Spain

HERSUS Prize will be hosted by University of Seville at its School of Architecture, in the context of the UNESCO Chair on Built Urban heritage in the digital era – CREhAR (Creative Research and Education on heritage Assessment and Regeneration).

Purpose of the awards

The HERSUS Prize awards best-practices in Europe on sustainability and cultural heritage in architectural and urban design: in academia, professional practice, and institutions. Specifically, HERSUS Prizes deals with the subject of Modern Heritage, defined by UNESCO Modern Heritage Program as “Architecture, Town Planning and Landscape Design of the 19th and 20th Century.”

It is a fact that Humanity has built more during the last 200 years than through the rest of its long history. Despite being an integral part of our environment, this heritage is not well known and valued by society and institutions. This undervalue leads to an inadequate protection, making it vulnerable and in danger of disappearing.

In the frame of this problem of disproportion -not only in terms of geography but also in terms of time- identified by the UNESCO in the World Heritage List, its committee adopted the strategy of working to create a more balanced World Heritage List, promoting a proactive approach of identification and documentation of this absent or less represented heritage. In this context, at the beginning of the 21st Century, UNESCO in collaboration with ICOMOS and DoCoMOMO, started the specific Modern Heritage program as one of those less represented categories on which UNESCO and the member states must work. Twenty years later and on the 50th anniversary of the World Heritage Convention, the inclusion of this heritage remains slow and lacks an assessment of its own heritage specificity.

The main objective of HERSUS Prize is to contribute to a greater visibility and awareness regarding Modern Heritage by awarding projects and initiatives that approach Modern Heritage on innovative and sustainable ways.

Final prize

The awarded proposals will be part of both an itinerant exhibition and a catalogue, which will also contribute to reach a broader audience and to leave a trail for further research and action within Modern Heritage.

Award categories

Education | Students

This category awards Master Diploma Projects or Thesis developed in the framework of Master level study programs in the field of Architectural and Urban Design at Higher Education Institutions in Europe. The object of study must be located within the geographical scope of the Council of Europe*

Education | Instructors

This category awards Innovative Teaching and Pedagogical Practices implemented as curricular activities, with ECTS recognition implemented as curricular activities with ECTS recognition at Higher Education Institutions. The institution must be located within the geographical scope of the Council of Europe*


This category awards one built project dealing with Modern Heritage (19th – 20th Century) completed between 2018 and 2022. The projects must be located within the geographical scope of the Council of Europe*

Research Honorary Award

This category recognises individual researchers or research institution that developed his/her work within the scope of Modern Heritage and from a state member of the Council of Europe*


December 01st 2022: Opening submission of proposals

January 15th 2023: Submission of proposals deadline

February 2023: Selection of the awarded proposals

May 2023: Exhibition and ceremony award