Ursula Roethlisberger elected AAAS Fellow

Ursula Roethlisberger (credit: Alain Herzog/EPFL)

Ursula Roethlisberger (credit: Alain Herzog/EPFL)

Professor Ursula Roethlisberger has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is “the world's largest multidisciplinary scientific society”, publishing the Science family of research journals.

This year, the AAAS has honored 416 of its members with the lifetime title of elected Fellow, “in recognition of their extraordinary achievements in advancing science”.

One of the new AAAS Fellows in the Section of Chemistry, is Professor Ursula Roethlisberger with EPFL’s Institute of Chemical Science and Engineering (ISIC). Professor Roethlisberger directs the Laboratory of Computational Chemistry and Biochemistry, and her research focuses on ab initio molecular dynamics methods based on density functional theory (Car-Parrinello simulations) and their application, adaption and extension to systems of chemical and/or biological interest.

The AAAS Fellows will be recognized at the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington D.C. during a Fellows Forum on 16 February 2019. They will be presented with an official certificate and the AAAS Fellows’ gold and blue rosette pin, the colors of which represent the fields of science and engineering respectively.

Official AAAS announcement