Go to main site


Two EPFL Professors win the SCS Werner Prize 2014

Professors Clémence Corminboeuf and Jérôme Waser have each been awarded the Werner Prize 2014 from the Swiss Chemical Society.

Two professors belonging to our Institute of Chemical Sciences and Engineering (ISIC) have been awarded the prestigious Werner Prize from the Swiss Chemical Society. The Prize is awarded annually to promising young Swiss scientists or scientists working in Switzerland (under 40 at the time of the award) in order to recognize their outstanding independent chemical research.

Prof. Clémence Corminboeuf was awarded for developing and applying state of the art computational and theoretical methods for interpreting and solving chemical problems in complex systems.

Prof. Jérôme Waser is recognized for the development of novel synthetic methods and strategies to construct complex structures of potential biological interest.

The Prize included a bronze medal representing the Swiss chemist Alfred Werner, Nobel Prize 1913, and a 5000 CHF cash award to each winner.