Touradj Ebrahimi receives the first Multimedia Star Innovator Award



Touradj Ebrahimi, head of the Multimedia Signal Processing Group (MMSPG) at the School of Engineering, is recipient of the first ever Multimedia Star Innovator Award organized by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers).

The Multimedia Star Innovator Award was created to distinguish pioneers of transformative technologies and business models in areas within the technical scope of the International Conference in Multimedia and Expo (ICME). The Award particularly acknowledges innovations that have had impact on human experiences or are anticipated to do so in the near future. To reflect widespread appreciation by the community, the winner was selected through voting by registered attendees of the conference, from among finalists selected by an Award Board.

Touradj Ebrahimi, Professor at EPFL, was the recipient of an award for his role in leading Quality of Experience Assessment Solutions and Multimedia Standardization; A second award was discerned jointly to Rajan Patel, Senior Director at Google, and Aparna Chennapragada, Google Executive, for leading the invention and creation of Google Lens.

Touradj Ebrahimi invented the concept of Quality of Experience in Multimedia in 2001. Since then, Quality of Experience has been the guiding principle behind design and implementation of a large number of multimedia products and services. The EPFL professor, himself, is known for the application of this concept in the development of international standards such as JPEG and MPEG which have transformed the way digital media is created and consumed today.

More information about the winners and the award: here
Selection committee: here

Author: School of Engineering