Go to main site


SGAA/SSAA Edith Alice Müller award 2018 won by Vivien Bonvin

© 2019 EPFL

© 2019 EPFL

The SGAA/SSAA Edith Alice Müller award 2018 given by Swiss Society of Astronomy and Astrophysics was won by Vivien François Bonvin for his thesis: “Precise measurements of time delays in gravitationally lensed quasars for competitive and independant determinations of the Hubble constant”

Vivien is a member of the COSMOGRAIL collaboration (COSmological MOnitoring of GRAvItational Lenses, www.cosmograil.org) that measures time-delays in lensed quasars since two decades.

In the H0LiCOW collaboration (H0 Lenses in COsmograil's Wellspring, www.h0licow.org), these time-delay were turned into cosmological constraints. Vivien is one of the main contributors to a series of publications that measured the expansion rate of the Universe, the Hubble Lemaître constant H0 with an unprecedented precision, casting a new light on our understanding of the nature of the Universe.